Failure and Success

3

May 1, 2010 by Nic

For the first time in years, today, I ran on a track. For my PAT on Wednesday, the 15 min jog will have to be done on a track, and I wanted to start practicing on a track, now that I know I can run 15 mins without stopping.  As a background note, I have serious issues with tracks–I get to a track to run and because of some past experiences my anxiety shoots through the roof, and I become convinced I’m going to fail miserably.  Hence wanting to be sure I practiced on a track.

I got through a little over half of one lap and had to start walking.  There were other people there, and all I could think about was how I was going to fail on Wednesday, and they were basically going to laugh at me for even thinking I should try.  I was ready to forget this whole thing, get in my car, and drive home.  I walked the last half of the lap, though, and decided not to go home.  I decided to start again, and forget anything about speed.  Forget anything but a simple pass on the test, which means jogging for 15 mins without stopping.

And I did.

I was slow.  Incredibly slow.  But I jogged 15 mins without stopping on that track.

I’m not overly proud of my performance. To be competitive Wednesday, I think I need to make it look a little easier! But I AM proud of the fact that I didn’t give up. I started over, and I met my goal.  I can only improve from here!

3 thoughts on “Failure and Success

  1. catfetus says:

    That’s awesome!
    That’s always my biggest problem, I get tired and walk until I am rested up (I try to limit the walking though) instead of pushing myself to run more. I think because of this my endurance hasn’t gone up much (my speed, however, has), I wouldn’t be able to jog 15 minutes 😛 I think 5 to 7 would be a reasonable goal for me, I think I might try that today.

    Is there any way you can train on the track (or a track) to try to reduce your anxiety?

  2. Nic says:

    Yeah, I tend to get really anxious once my body starts to get tired, like, “oh my gosh, I’m so tired already, I’ll never make it!”, but I find if I just focus on not stopping YET, I can get there.

    I haven’t been able to practice on a track again (the test is tomorrow), but I’ve been wearing a backpack with 5lbs of weight in it and running on the treadmill that can elevate to simulate hills (I’ve had it on 1-2.5) to practice.

    I’m nervous, but…excited too. I’m pretty damn sure I can do this. 🙂 Thanks for commenting–I always find it encouraging!!

  3. catfetus says:

    No problem! I like reading your posts. It seems like some pretty fun jobs you are going for.

Leave a Reply

My Quote of the Day

Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.
~Samuel Beckett

Tracking Measurements

Starting Measurements:
Upper arm (L): 15 inches
Upper arm (R): 17 inches
Waist: 42.5 inches
Hips: 45 inches
Thigh (L): 27 inches
Thigh (R): 27 inches

Total Inches: 173.5

