Fall Down 7 Times, Get up 8

1

March 11, 2012 by Nic

I lost my job a couple weeks ago. Yeah, I know, I never actually told you guys I GOT a job, but I did. I job I really really liked. And after 18 months of pouring my life into that job, I lost it. There are about a million things I could say about that, none of which would make sense to the three people who sometimes view this blog anyway. The bottom line for my blog is that that job loss, among other things, has gotten me back into the habit, so to speak. So, here I am, ready to wow you all with my fitness goals and progress!!

Over the last several months, I have been studying ninjitsu. I will not claim to have had a great deal of success in this, but I am okay with that. The studying of it has already begun changing my life and perspectives, and is central to my fitness goals right now. I need my body to be strong enough to do the things training demands of it.

I’m working on a couple of “fitness plans” right now, and I use that term loosely, as I have not followed either very closely so far.

P90X: If you’ve read my blog before, you know I love this program. If you haven’t heard of it, google it and check it out. It has phenomenal results and is very intense. It requires about an hour a day. So far, I’m not in the practice of giving it that hour, but I’m working on it. It revolves around the P90X workout DVD’s which target a different muscle system each day. The idea is that it helps keep the body from plateauing this way, or something like that. I like the workouts, there are great ways to track them, and every day is a new challenge.

C25K: This is a running program, whose full name is Couch to 5k. The idea is increasing intervals of run time over several weeks so that a person could go from a total couch potato to being able to complete a 5k run. I’ve been more successful in this so far, and I’m enjoying it immensely.

I’ll probably throw in some CrossFit as well, just to mix things up a bit.

So, that’s where things are at. I shall shortly put up a post on my most recent workouts, and I’m hoping the blog itself will help me stay on top of stuff!!

One thought on “Fall Down 7 Times, Get up 8

  1. Curtis says:

    I’m using the 31-Day Fat-Loss Cure program, and I love the exercises in it. Sounds like a scaled down version of P90X (which has always intrigued me). Maybe I’ll graduate to that when I’ve mastered the workouts in my program.

    Also, for your meditation, check out the Meditation Timer app. Let’s you set bells and intervals, plus has a social media component that shows you people all around the world meditating at any given moment. Kind of cool to see you’re not alone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

My Quote of the Day

Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.
~Samuel Beckett

Tracking Measurements

Starting Measurements:
Upper arm (L): 15 inches
Upper arm (R): 17 inches
Waist: 42.5 inches
Hips: 45 inches
Thigh (L): 27 inches
Thigh (R): 27 inches

Total Inches: 173.5

